Sign in to follow this  

250F too much for a first bike?

Hi, 

I'm looking to get into dirt bikes and i am going to be doing mostly trail riding. I have some experience with quads but they are mostly utilities. i have driven clutch before but i am far from experienced. i have been looking at 250f because i have heard they are a lot more forgiving and easy to handle than the 250 2 strokes and it is almost the equivalent to a 125 2 stroke. I am 16 years old, 5'11" and 165 lbs so the size isn't the problem for me it is just the power for a beginner. All of my friends are telling me to do it but all of them ride quads so its a bit different. What do you guys think? Thanks in advance for any help. 

Edited by liampac70

Hi, 

I'm looking to get into dirt bikes and i am going to be doing mostly trail riding. I have some experience with quads but they are mostly utilities. i have driven clutch before but i am far from experienced. i have been looking at 250f because i have heard they are a lot more forgiving and easy to handle than the 250 2 strokes and it is almost the equivalent to a 125 2 stroke. I am 16 years old, 5'11" and 165 lbs so the size isn't the problem for me it is just the power for a beginner. All of my friends are telling me to do it but all of them ride quads so its a bit different. What do you guys think? Thanks in advance for any help. 

Trail riding? First of all, if you go four-stroke, get it with electric start. Unless you're out rippin' Glamis, you want electric start for anything besides MX.. unless you're on a smoker, of course.