Sign in to follow this  

Is a CRF450X to heavy for me?

I have been riding a YZ 125 for a couple years now and am pretty comfortable on it and can climb over just about anything. I do enjoy the lightness of the 125. I ran into a good deal a just got a CRF450X. I haven't ridden it on the trail yet and was wondering if it is to big for me. I am 5'11'' and 150 lbs at 16 years old. I will probably grow to about 6'0'' or 6'1'' 180 lbs. If you guys could list your weight and height in your responses it would be helpful too. I know the only solution is to ride it and see if i like it, but if you could give me your opinion while I am waiting to go test it out it would be appreciated. 

All I can say is, I wish I were 35 pounds lighter. That'd put me at 150 and make the bike just crank that much more. You're gonna love the 4-stroke grunt. It's just longer gears.

RZ Rob

Try to get the suspension set for your weight, height, and ridding style. If its not the bike may feel very heavy and unmanageable. 

I own both a 250 and 450 '09.   I'm 5' 10', weight 183 at the moment. 

For the type of riding I do (woods), I like the 250, but if it opens up in the slightest, I like the 450.  There's only a 14lb difference between the two, but the 450 is wider up by the tank and carries that 14lbs up higher.   The 450 wears me out a lot faster though.   If your going for it, it's a lot to hang onto.

Coming from a 125, I think your going to like the 250 more, but if your into fast desert riding, etc, your going to want the 450.   I often find myself wanting a little more out of the 250 and wish it had a sixth gear (to be fair, I have geared it down to 13/53, so 1st is not all that usable).   With that said, most riders around here (NY) will tell you straight out that unless your tackling some very big hills, a 250 is all you really need. 

Motor wise, both my bikes are stock except for opening up the air box and rejetting.

Jim.

Edited by Jim Dettman