Sign in to follow this  

My New 2003 yz125 Project Bike.

Hey guys so I've been looking for a yz125 project bike for a while now. I finally found this yz125 project bike the guy claims it needs a new top end but you never know until you open it up. This will be my first project bike ever. I've never done a top end before or really open a engine but I've been reading and learning about yz125 2strokes. Also the guys has extras coming with the bike. He has a new top end kit, 3 extra radiators, new gas tank plastic, the stock cylinder and the new one on the bike. I bought the bike for $500 I think its a pretty good deal with all the extras. I will be posting pictures of me working on the bike. Beware its probably going to take a while to get this bike running. Here is what the bike looks like right now. Let me know if you guys have any tips for me.

00Q0Q_e5K3qS3YxKf_600x450.jpg

yz125.jpg

Looks like a very good deal for $500.00

Tips; fuel,air, and spark are the major requirements.

In my experience when the top end is worn out and sufficient compression is lost, they can still be push started for a short time before a tear down is required.

Do the `extras` include a repair manual? If not, then that is where you should spend your first $60.00

Please do post pictures of your project progression, that is always cool, but remember you might find better answers to questions in the bike specific portion of TT.

Congratulations