Sign in to follow this  

Vibration through handlebars

Hey so I came off my bike a few weeks ago pretty hard, my buddy took it for a rip tonight and said when he jumps and the bikes in the mid air he can feel a bad vibration, he's not sure what it is but he reckons I might need to rebuild the engine, I'm injured so I can't ride the bike so basically that is all the information I have, also I'm new to dirtbikes so if any1 has any information or similar experiences please share, I really don't want to rebuild the top end unless I have to

Also I don't really understand how how he only feels this when the bikes jumping surely you would feel the vibration when riding to, it's an 03 yz 250

Hope you get better soon.  First thing to check is the motor mounts to make sure all the bolts are tight.  Then check back when you get better.  In other words, don't worry about it right now.  

Haha no he wouldn't do that, yea hopefully I can get a look at it in the next few weeks maybe it is just something's loose, I'll check back in when I do check it out, just got to rest up now and worry about getting back to work first

OK so im not sure if he really knows what happened to the bike but if he did he would be very smart and quite useful to people who aqree diagnosing things that go wrong with other peoples stuff when they dont take care of the things they are supposed to because it can always help fix things and if he is wrong maybe a mechanic can help people things stuff fix also once i had a bike that threw a rod and it took me ages to find it because the grass was long and im afraid of snakes

Edited by ickfinger

Two strokes vibrate more then four bangers, thats just the way it is. If the piston has some time on it the can vibrate more, especially if there is a forged piston in there. 

I also switched from the stock bars to Renthal twinwalls and it seemed to help with vibration a good amount.