Sign in to follow this  

Track watering 101.

I'll start this with "These are only my opinions. I'm by no means an expert ."  I'm venting because last week I had a tank slapping incident in some rollers after a big jump. It was caused by a sheet of water over hard packed dirt, making it slimey.  I didn't hit the ground, but the left / right / left tank slap torqued the crap out of my shoulder.

Water in dirt = good

Water on dirt = bad

I used to race pretty regularly but became frustrated by well meaning people manning watering hoses like they were filling swimming pools.  When I ride or race and am feeling the flow, I'm riding on the edge of my ability to keep control and traction. During races I have the track conditions down for the different sections of track. It drives me nuts when on the next lap I find the hard pack covered in a sheet of water and slippery like snot.  I back way off in fear of laying it down.  Or the same well meaning guy, hosing down a jump face that I was previously laying the bike over on.  I have seen guys throttling up faces only to  spin a 180* in to major yard sales.

It seems like its either a non-rider or a really slow guy doing the watering.  I wish there were some standardized rules of etiquette for watering.  It is unsafe to water during a race .  Not only are the participants at the edge of control, but it also causes vision obstruction if the spray isn't moved in time. 

I stopped racing with a particular socal club because it was so rampant and the club leadership was indifferent. 

I've never seen watering going on during a national or supercross race. Because it is unsafe. 

Does anyone else feel the same? Different? Indifferent?