Sign in to follow this  

2014 yz250f hard to start

Hello all,

Been reading the forums and some great advice here. Was wondering if someone could please help me out.

My last bike was 2009 yz250 2 smoker and then I sold it. Kind of wish I wouldn't have was a very fun bike to ride.

Recently bought a 2014 yz250f and I find it very difficult to start. Not sure what I am doing wrong.

Takes quite a lot of kicks when it's cold but eventually starts. When I am out riding for a while and I biff, it is really frustrating cause it takes forever to kick over to the point I get tired. Slows down everyone riding with me.

Friends have said it might be because it's new. Have over 15 hours on it and took it in after 10 hours for the service etc.

Is it me or the bike or both? I am by no means an expert rider but something isn't right. I can kick over 450s easier than mine. 

Anyone have suggestions? It would be greatly appreciated, thank you. 

Mine was difficult before it was broken in but starts with 1-3 kicks now, hot or cold. If it's fairly cool where you're at, are you using the enrichment circuit (choke) to start it? After that, just getting it to top dead centre before I'd kick it usually worked. Maybe pull your spark plug and check the gap or throw another plug in there as they're cheap? Are you riding at higher than normal elevation? Do you have a gytr programmer for the bike? How does the bike work/run for you otherwise?

Cold kick it over twice slowly, pull the choke for want of a better name :) Find TDC kick firmly it should fire first kick. Hot find TDC take your time and kick, always starts between one and three kicks depending on how you stopped it i.e stall or with the kills switch. You must find TDC and have the kick start at the top of its stroke. Its an easy starter but does require a firm kick. 

Edited by MartyMOOSE