Sign in to follow this  

yz250 is Surging?

I'm kinda stumped

The bike starts up fine and idles no problem. After riding it for about 10 or so minutes it starts to get these idle surges, like someone is reving the throttle every 1 to 3 seconds. Also sometimes the bike will just rev full throttle for no apparent reason and the kill switch will not function. Other times you come to a stop and everything is normal so i'm guessing it is something with electrical based off it makes no sense lol. I was searching on here and ran across the throttle position control sensor, i just check it and it a little out of spec 3.68 but i dont know if that would cause all those problems either. 

if you got any ideas let me know

• Like 1

I'm no expert but could the jetting be off?

Yup, but if the bike was running good before and then suddenly changed, generally something else is wrong....

Sounds like all the common symptoms of a airleak to me though...

Sounds like an air leak to me as well... easy way to rule out an air leak (since you have surging it is probably a decent leak) is to start turning in the AS and see if the surging persists or at least doesn't improve you can pretty much guarantee that you have an air leak. 

Edited by BDubb106

So i did the top down tester. I was losing a ton of PSI from reed gasket, so i replaced it. It still leaked a little but i think it was from not being able to get a good seal around the elbow of the tester. When i pumped it up i could hear it from the intake and i couldnt see any bubbles from anywhere else. I also took apart and cleaned the carb as well as reseating my exhaust pipe and sealing the connection from the expansion chamber to the silencer.