Sign in to follow this  

Backpacks in desert?

I'm relatively new to Nevada and have noticed, both while riding and race videos , that some people ride/ race wearing backpacks.

I'm curious what people are carrying beyond my admittedly austere kit( fluids for me, spark plug/wrench , a Swiss army type multitool, and phone(containing maps I can use offline)

I will also at times carry a spare bottle of water on the bike

Sent from my iPhone using Thumper Talk mobile app

Everything you said plus tire spoons, inner tubes, a small hand pump, GPS and cell phone or SPOT.  Depends on distance covered.

Everything you said plus tire spoons, inner tubes, a small hand pump, GPS and cell phone or SPOT. Depends on distance covered.

Tire tool and supplies are something that has occurred to me as well. I wonder if fix-a-flat would work well enough to get me home? I have GPS on my Iphone,which I carry. I have thought about getting a true GPS, but where I ride doesn't really justify the expense. Both my main riding areas are relatively "contained"(I'm not 50 miles from civilization), and one of them has continuous cell service. I'm riding at the other today, and will experiment how well my Iphone GPS works out here.Of course, I have no idea how it would work in a race.

I appreciate the input as I develop my own "kit" Since I hate riding in a backpack, and wear shoulderpads/chestprotector, I'm going to try different methods.

What does the Group think of this...

Basic Kit-my home made fanny pack hydration system with 32oz. fluids,Iphone with Garmin,multitool, and lighter. I've thought about adding a signal mirror.

spark plug and wrench secured in airbox

Add-handlebar bag with 16 oz fluids (does anyone carry fuel?) and couple of powerbars(or does anyone have better food suggestions?)