Power Valve......Part?

Hey, guys.  I'm new to TT, but have used it as a reference for many years.  Lot of good stuff from a lot of crafty folks. 

The other weekend while racing MX, my lovely(13' YZ250) started running like crap.  No low end power, very hard to keep on the pipe, and sounded like the exhaust was made out of a soda can.  I knew it wasn't the piston or rings.  Compression was about 230.  So I figured the power valve.  As I removed the side cover to access the power valve push rod, I noticed the hole for the dowel pin did not line up with the hole in the cylinder.  I was afraid it was bent.  Long story short, the little clip thing in the photos had popped off of the top of the main valve, and got lodged under the cam for the sub exhaust plug on the left side.  Not allowing the valves to completely close. 

My question is: is there a way to secure that piece so it doesn't pop off again?  I realize it has a "holder" on the shaft, but it let it pop off somehow.  I thought about gasket maker or thread locker.....but I'm not sure how it would do. 

If nothing else, maybe sharing this will help a two stroke brother sleep soundly.  I lost many nights of sleep worrying what it could be before I tore into it.  haha

photo 1.JPG

photo 3.JPG

photo 4.JPG

photo 5.JPG

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/862240-anyone-ever-broken-this-part

I have broken many. I just remove the old part and let her rip

Good thread.  Wish I'd seen that sooner.  I already put it all back together as it should be.  If I have any other problems I will probably do as you suggest. 

You would think with so many people having issues Yamaha would address it.  Oh well.  No big deal I guess.  Rock n Roll!