Sign in to follow this  

09 Engine build

Hey guys, 

I'm rebuilding a 09 250F. The motor was blown and most everything was trashed. Still waiting to hear back if the cams and cam journals can be saved. 

I'm considering putting different cams other than stock back in it. I already have the 270 kit and I am wondering which cams would complement the increase in displacement. The head will be stock so no porting/polish with stock valves and springs. It still has the stock exhaust for now and the air boot is stock other than the screen removed.

It will be for MX and Im just a vet rider. I do like having more bottom end coming out of turns since I'm 185 lbs but I also don't like a low to mid only setup and like to be able to rev it out when I'm hanging on for dear life in the whoops and can't manage a shift.

I figured the big bore would add some power down low and was wondering if the stage 2 hot cam would allow it to rev like I want without negating the gain in bottom too much. If anyone has done the 270 kit and played around with cam setups can chime in about what it was like that would help me out. I have never ridden this bike so I don't know how the power output was before so your experience will be appreciated. 

Thanks in advance 

John

A 270 kit will sign off earlier than the stock bore. But it will make more power down low.

Would suggest some port work to help the higher displacement breathe, maybe just take out any imperfections, and polish the exhaust. When you remove the valves you will see where the valve seats don't quite match the ports so clean that up a bit.

As for cams, I had done hotcams and was not to my liking. They tended to give me a weird low end lag after deacceleration. I messed with my carb settings for a monthbefore throwing the stock cams back in , the stock ones eliminated the weird "flat spot"

What compression are you gong to run?