First post, first bike, and first question.

Hello everyone. I'm out of Orlando, Florida. Just got a 2002 KX 250, its actually my second bike, first full size bike. Pretty much stock except for an exhaust. Supposedly a fresh top end with 15 hours. Runs and shifts fine. Can't keep the front end down. I just bought a plastics kit as the OG stuff was nasty faded grey and someone tried to kill it with stickers at one point early on in it's life. Also ordered a back tire, filter. 

So I am new to 2 stroke bikes, and this one in particular. My question is. The sight glass on the trans case, the fluid is green, not milky green, like Kawi green. If I remove the fill plug, I can look deep enough in to see it all, but all the gear I can see is coated and looks clean. Spells like gear oil. I know someone people are picky about what they run, but it smells similar to rear end fluid on any car, so I imagine it is gear oil. Radiator is full, no rust in there. Looks almost like a dex color pink. More than likely just pink coolant. 

Taking it to get a new back tire and front tube on Fri so I can ask a second opinion then, but I wanted to get on this forum as I used it to help me find a bike.

Thanks guys!

Some gear oils are green, some are red, some look like oil. As long as it looks clean....

When it's time to change it, use ATF type F. You'll be glad you did, you'll love the way it makes the clutch feel. I change mine every 4-6 hours.

I don't run antifreeze here in Florida. I use straight distilled water with Water Wetter. It cools better than antifreeze mix.

You're just missing the little rubber plug that covers the caliper pin from your rear caliper. You'll want to replace that to keep sand out of the pins, it will eat the pin and the caliper body.

Edited by Chokey

Chokey, couldn't be more grateful for that answer. Should my local parts store carry that rubber plug? I can't find anything online.