Windy!

I'm new to street riding and my 250L is treating me well.

I'm noticing that as I get around 35mph and above, the wind noise is louder then I would have expected. Also, the bike doesn't seem to 'cut' the wind all that well. It could very well be that I'm just not experienced enough and that the wind buffeting I'm feeling is normal. It's not that I feel out of control at all, it's just I definitely notice the wind.

I'm guessing a new helmet first and foremost. Right now I'm using a full face motocross helmet. So I'm going to look at Dual-sport helmets.

Is there anything I can do to the bike that would cut down on the wind? The bike is stock now.

Thanks,
mike

Some helmets do catch a lot of wind. 13/42 sprockets will help you with power .... a small little 250 will always feel tossed around by the wind also ....  

I have thought of upgrading to a more expensive helmet just for this reason but, I am not too sure how much better it really would be ...  :excuseme:

I have a GMAX and was think maybe the ICON Variant might be better ... 

Yeah, I have a Gmax also. I'm going to check on Revzilla and see what they say about noise reduction.

As for power, you've suggested a lot of good mods that I will be doing, the sprocket being one of them.

I figured the small dual-sport is a big part of feeling the wind. I'm not going on any road that go above 35 mph  so the problem shouldn't be that bad. 

Regarding the upgraded sprockets and other things. Will putting these mods on make throttle control in slow speed driving more difficult? I'm still on a learners permit and I know part of the Road test is slow speed driving. In terms of that I'm fine with the bike the way it is right now, and was thinking I would wait on the mods if they would adversely affect slow speed riding.

Thanks,
mike

The sprockets will make it easier for you to go slow to handle the drivers test ....  :thumbsup: