Hi! introduction and inevetible questions! 2007 rm125

Hi,

earlier in the year i became the proud owner of my first 2 stroker and decided ball to it and picked up a beautiful 2007 RM125. its a bit excessive for a field come farm bike but damn is it fun!

the Guy i bought it off had clearly looked after it well (it was raced but kept up with the service schedule.)

it runs like a dream still fills me with terror occasionally and has to be the most stable dirt bike ive owned. very pleased!

that is until ive come to do the top end rebuild......

im a former service engineer, and general engineer so stripping the thing and putting it back together is childs play.

however i have hit a wall at the piston removal when i noticed scuffing to the rather nasty racing piston (im a engineer i dont like ali pistons!)

on inspection of the cylinder bore i was devastated to see a 8mm square max flaking in the nikasil plating just above the exhaust port.

there is little in the way of actual scoring to the nikasil just this chip.

and whilst the scuffing on the exhaust side of the piston is quite alarming again this is the only damage, ring looks ok.

What i want to do is buy a cylinder body (or sleave dependant on advice) so that i have a spare that can be fitted while one is off at plating, however my pockets dont run that deep at this second.

will i get away with continuing the rebuild, hone and reassemble put a new oem suzuki piston in (i know it will sacrifice the piston in quite a short time) knowing in a month or so ill have a spare lining?

pics included, bike after the other weeks clean, cylinder and piston please excuse the quality i can do better but would like to know how to proceed asap cos i missed my ride last week. and a picture of my pet baby goat.

many thanks in advance!

DSC_0006.jpg

DSC_0015.jpg

DSC_0016.jpg

DSC_0017.jpg

DSC_0019.jpg

DSC_0020.jpg

DSC_00011.jpg

yes you could hone and put a new piston in there.

issue with doing that?