Decision Help! DRZ400S VS DRZ400E

So I am new to dual sporting... I am looking to get a DRZ400. I really like the reliability factor, and the fun factor. 

I found an 01 DRZ400E a few hours away from me for 2k. Then there is an 01 DRZ400S for 2k also. Someone told me to try go get the 2002 and up though, because it has better shocks. Is this true? If it is, is it that big of a difference that I should wait for another good deal? 

There is an 02 by me, but they want 2500... I really dont want to spend more than 2000 on it. All three of the have Jet Kits, and the 02 has a full yoshimera pipe. They all seem to be in pretty equal shape, the S has 10,000 miles on it. There is also an 05 400E by me for 3k...

To throw in a whole new thing, also I am considering a 96 DR350 that isnt running now, guy wants 1000, but said it ran great last summer. 

So.. which should I get? I am looking at doing 50 road and 50 off road, since I have to ride to the trails.

Is there a big difference in power between the E and S?

Thanks for any input!

It is true that the 02 and up have the diff suspension.. Based upon what you described I would go with the S model as it's setup better for dual sporting.. I have an 07s and have modded and taken a lot of things off to accommodate the tighter trails.. Here in the NW I can get through some nasty single track and hill climbs with my S no problem. It feels a bit heavy at times but it is a tractor. If I was to do it all over again id consider the E since I ride almost only off road.. But having the street legal aspect is nice at times..

Also I'd shoot to spend a touch more and get something with lower miles then 10k.. That's just my opinion though

Edited by NW_drZ

Thanks for the reply NW_drz