Which bike for a bigger guy?

I'm a 26 year old 6'4 250lb (I'm buff as hell, believe me!) man that wants to get into trail riding dirt biking.

I have no experience on two wheels and little experience on ATVs but really want to get into dirt biking and I'm slightly confused with what bike would be best for me. I've done a little googling before posting this thread and most search results point me towards a 450 or up. Is this too much for a new guy? Can I easily learn on a bike that size? Are there any other bikes you would suggest? Doesn't have to be new. (Preferably something under $2k.) 

Thanks for your time.

if you're getting a 4 stroke get a 350cc or bigger bike. if youre getting a 2 stroke a 250 will get the job done. you could get by with a smaller bike but you'll want a bigger bike once you become competent at riding. the drz 400 and xr 400 are good trail bikes for a guy your size to start out with. newer 450 and 500cc race bikes are very powerful and are a bit much for newer riders/

• Like 2

shit, i cant remember the last time i spent more then 2k for a bike. theirs older bikes in good shape if you look hard enough. 

Suzuki dr350 or drz400, Kawasaki kdx220, or Honda xr400 would probably be the best to  start with. If you aren't going to be running tight single track, the Honda xr650r is a good choice as well. Eventually you may want to move to 450 4 stroke or 250 2 stroke, but I would not suggest these to learn on

agreed, i had a kdx 220, nice bike but its to small for him. he'll need bar risers and a tall seat.  im 6ft and felt cramped on mine. it pulled me ok though. im pretty fat to probably 275 with gear.

• Like 2

Thanks for all your input. I really appreciate it. 

With a 2K budget your very limited in options. If you could save up more to increase that budget to 3K, your range of options will go up probably 5x.