Sign in to follow this  

Dual Use Boots

I've done a lot of searching around forums and google, but I can't find very good info on this specific problem/combination.

I'm relatively new to dirt biking, I've done a bit of trail riding with borrowed gear and bikes, and love it, but I moved across the country, away from those friends.

I've decided to get back into the sport, and focus on Trials for now, and I think I'll really enjoy it. But I do love trail riding and want to make sure that I can still do that if I get the chance (or can't find a good deal on a trials bike :p) I got some great buys on Black Friday, and I'm fully outfitted for both Trials and general trail riding/single track, and all for about $140.

Except boots.

Since good trials boots are around $400, and I haven't even tried Trials, I'm hesitant to make that purchase. Do any of you know of a boot that would be OK for trials, but offer enough protection for forest riding (I'm an explorer, not a racer) and still be somewhat inexpensive? I'd at least want something I can use off road if I don't end up really liking Trials.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by AeroSigma

Sidi Discovery with the steel toe caps removed.

If you get into Trials you may still want Trials boots as they are noticeably lighter. I prefer the Discoveries for trail riding because they protect my feet better than a Trials boot, but their heavier weight slows down making a quick dab in a Trials section. 

I like my AXO slammer constructor shorty boots with shin/knee guards. They are discontinued but there are some other shorty boots available all in the $115-$140 range.

if you are just TRAIL riding, use your simple trail/atv type, dual purpose off road boot.  Just motovita is saying, I just add...