First bike for 13 year old?

My wife and I just started fostering a just turned 13 year old last week. This kid has been through so much it would break your heart. I have been riding and racing for 15 years but we never had kids. I started my nephew riding and racing when he was about 9 on a klx 110 and then his Dad, a non rider took over and has supported his riding ever since. He is now a 19 year old A rider and a very good kid, I think in part to his parents telling him behave and get good grades or no dirt biking. My foster kid has shown interest in riding but has no experience what so ever. He's about 5'5" weighs about 225 lbs. He's going to be a big guy no matter what but I have got to get him involved in physical activity or he's gonna be obese his whole life. I am wondering if any one has a suggestion for a starter bike. Would a 4 stroke air cooled bike like a crf 150 or drz 125 with heavy springs be enough to haul him around on some very tame trails? I really want to share my love of riding with this kid and at the same time get him to fall in love with it so I can use it as a motivator for good behaviour. Any one who has ideas on this I would really appreciate hearing them. Thank you.

• Like 1

CRF 230

It good to see you helping him , I admire your decency .. SIR

Thanks but I am just paying forward what people have done for me in my life. I have to admit he has already said those four words a dirt bike parent never wants to hear... "I like four wheelers" 😉 I have to nip this in the bud and find a suitable bike for him before he falls in with the wrong crowd. :o

• Like 1

I wouldn't blow the budget until I was sure it's something he's going to stick with. I'd probably look for an XR200 that's in trail worthy condition and have him ride the wheels off of it until you know for sure. To do it right, no matter what bike you buy it will need to be sprung/valved for big-guy specs. But the 200 will get you in ('er, out) the door. Best of luck.

• Like 1