Would like opinions about the 250SX

I'm a 50 yo vet recreational MX rider (meaning slow) ridding in hard pack terrain.I have a chance of getting a 2014 250 sx at a good price. I have ridden the 300 XC which I liked the torque on it & also rode a buddy's 250 SX which I found it to be hard hitting. Is it possible to make the 250 sx's power close to the 300XC without buying the $900 kit?. I did a search & couldn't find much. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Roger

I'm selling my 300sx kit for $675 including shipping. I bought it a month ago. It's too much for this old man.  It has 6.6 hours total. Perfect condition.  Includes the cylinder, cylinder head, all pv parts, the piston kit (with 6.6 hours on it) and an assortment of gaskets.  The Z dimension is set to 48.5 mm per the spec. It's ready to bolt on and ride.... My bike is a 2012. Same kit...

Edited by Dirt Addict

I have a '14 250sx and I ride a two stroke for many reasons including ease of maintenance, price, sound, weight and Its just cool. The good thing about the ktm is the adjustability. With the different powervalve springs and you can buy the powervalve preload tool for $7 it changes the bike completely you can literally make the power act soft and gutless to fire breathing in 5 minutes. Jet it rich and the power becomes even more linear. Basically what I'm trying to say is the adjustability is almost endless...and you can buy the 300 kit. Hope that helps and is too much of a run on rant. ✊

Good thread, Im in same boat as seeker thinking about a new 250sx, (and several other mx specific models)  Im reading some issues about throttle cables. Is it still advisable on the newer sx's to replace the stock cable with the motion pro that threads in, or is that old news? Any big problems with the sx that need attention? don't want to get us off track, as Im also interested in the o.p.'s question, just digging a little for additional info.