Sign in to follow this  

How do shims/clearances work?

I am new to 4 stroke dirt bikes, and was just wondering how exactly shims work on bikes. I am interested to know what they do and how they work because I will be re shimming my dirt bike soon. Also I am wondering on what the clearances have to do with the bikes performance and how it starts. Thanks

To over simplify: one side of the shim rides on the end of the valve stem, and the other side rides inside the "bucket". This allows you to adjust the overall length of the valve/shim/bucket assembly to precise tolerances. Your cam love rides on the outside of the "bucket" and causes the valve to open as it rotates. If your shims are too thick (longer valve assembly) the valve may not completely close and the valve will leak, burn valves, be hard to start, or not run at all. If you shim is too thin (short valve assembly) the valve does not fully open or maintain proper duration and you loose power, get more valve noise, and risk breaking top end parts. As you ride your bike your valves tend to get longer over time (the valve cups, and the valve mating surface with the seat wears. Therefore when you're valve clearance goes out of tollerance you generally have to put in thinner shims to account for the longer valves.

CoKTM

Edited by coktm
  • Like 2