electrical questions

Hi everyone! I'm brand new to this forum and only a month into owning a 1975 Honda xl250, but I'm no newbie to wrenching or to the bike model. I grew up learning to ride on a 74 xl250 and have become a motorcycle and jeep gearhead.

I look forward to spending some time getting to know you guys and learn about this bike. My question is this: I've been making repairs and base-lining this old bike but have never worked with 6v electrical systems. This bike seems to run both on AC and DC, depending on the circuit.

So....I found a tail light assembly on ebay (mine was from some early 80's sport bike) and wired it in last night. The taillight functions but when I apply the brake the light dims and nearly goes out. I tested for DC voltage and got wierd readings. I tested for AC and found 2 volts. I tested at the battery and found at idle there were 2V. If I revved it to 4kRPM, the charge to the positive side of the battery climbed to 5.5V, and the brake light brightened greatly.

The battery is shot and I tested the rectifier per my Clymer manual with ambiguous results. Two questions: is there a seperate voltage regulator on this model (conflicting info on this), and shouldn't the battery be charging at more like 7-8V at high RPM? How's a 6V battery ever going to reach full charge when it's only receiving a max of 5.5v??

Thanks for reading and I'm looking forward to getting to know you all!

Jeremy

Jeremy:

Your gonna need a wiring diagram and some careful study.  Look at your wiring diagram.

You will see there is 3 separate circuits on this bike, coming from 3 separate generating coils.   One coil runs the headlight with raw AC.  Also hooked to the headlight wire is an AC regulator that clips the raw AC so the headlight doesn't get burned out.