2004 RM250

Hey everyone, just got myself a 2004 RM250 a few weeks ago and been having a blast riding it!!!

I've been running the oil at 30:1 with Maxima Castor 927 and its very smokey.. the previous owner was running it at 40:1 because he said it fouled plugs running more oil..  I thought I would do what the manual says. Today I fouled a plug within 2 minutes of riding after filling up the tank (30:1) and replaced the plug and it ran fine for the rest of the day (probably only like 30 minutes more of total riding lol). I was wondering if you guys think I fouled the plug because I am running to rich an oil content?

On another note, ( how it runs). I've noticed the bike has a powerful midrange hit but the power goes away very quickly if I turn the throttle any more. It seems I need to short shift quite quickly and I run through the gears rather quick. This is my first 2 stroke bike so I am new to how they act but I've always had this stereotype in my mind I guess that they rev to the moon and most of the power is in the very high rpm ranges. My bike does have the stock pipes on it and I've done some reading and I think this is the reason why I am having to shift so soon because the power is low and has a short midrange powerband. Dont get me wrong, the bike is plenty fast but I just kind of wish I could stay in each gear longer. I do not race but I do ride some preety open trails that I can go fast on. I think I might need a new pipe...but I've read this calls for rejetting and I have left the carb alone so far. My mechanical knowledge is preety basic but I want to learn and have a passion for this new hobby!

So far what I've done to the bike

Changed the gear oil with Honda Pro 80w85w, drained and changed the coolant with PEAK 50/50 diluted from Ace, need to bleed brakes and change brake fluid with DOT 4..