Picked up a '99 yz250, project time.

Hey everyone!

I'm a noob here and to YZ's but picked one up for next to nothing so I figured why not? It's a great winter project and I've really wanted to get out of the cage and off 4 wheels. I work at an Arctic Cat/Can-am dealer as a service writer and own a Wildcat SxS and come from a history of YFZ's, Raptor's and Arctic Cat Sleds. I still actually have a Raptor 350 with a high compression built. So as you can see I have no real history with dirt bikes, its never too late to learn something new!

So anyways to the bike. A guy from the neighboring town had it listed for cheap so I went and checked it out. Apparently it was too much bike for his kid and had some damage so he just wanted to get rid of it. It had a broken brake lever, missing clutch lever and some misc. damage from laying it over. He claimed it had the top end replaced in 2013ish and hadn't been ridden in a while, he also thought the plug was fouled because he couldn't get it to fire. Oh well, worst case scenario I'd have to rebuild the top end. The only changes I can see is the FMF pipe and silencer. 

Once I got it home I picked up a new brake and clutch levers, then I noticed the carb wasn't completely pushed in on the engine side. So I went ahead and pulled the carb completely out to get a good look at it. it was setup with a 172/48 combo but was very clean. Then I noticed the pilot screw was no where to be found. Once I got everything sorted I kicked it over and it fired right up but was idling pretty high, any adjustment on the choke/idle nob wouldn't change it (not sure why). 

Now on the first ride I had no power band in first and second gear, third to fifth pulled like crazy. So it came down to the power valve or compression. Compression it was, 62 psi after 4 hard kicks. 

So now on to some questions; 

If they rode this without that pilot screw in it would it have been the cause or was it just time for a fresh top end?