Modifying a 2009 RMZ450 to reduce weight

I was looking to get some fresh ideas on ways to reduce sprung as well as unsprung weight on my 09 rmz. I am an aerospace machinist and ive been milling around on the idea of knocking some weight off of my bike. Other than the obvious things like footpegs and the ridiculous cost of TI bolts does anyone have any thoughts on the matter?

I'd start with wheels and tires..check weights of the competitors but pretty sure Talon is still one of the lightest, not cheap.

Or are you talking about machining parts? That might be a bit harder since most lightweight stuff these days is CF and exotic metals like Ti e/t/c

you can swap out the swing arm pivot bolt with one from an older bike, to save 0.5lbs.  For some reason the one on the 2009 isn't hollowed.

beware, a lot of after market wheels are heavier.

and yes, tires and tubes, remove a lot of the plastic covers that only pack up with mud.

but todd is correct, the heaviest component of any motorcycle is the rider. 🙂

you can swap out the swing arm pivot bolt with one from an older bike, to save 0.5lbs.  For some reason the one on the 2009 isn't hollowed.

beware, a lot of after market wheels are heavier.

and yes, tires and tubes, remove a lot of the plastic covers that only pack up with mud.

but todd is correct, the heaviest component of any motorcycle is the rider. 🙂

Bruce I was only saying it for a laugh wasn't serious. I will say the best mod you can put on a bike that isn't running ill is suspension suited for its rider. The next best is fitness of the rider.