Clicker settings for the DEEP sand.

So I got out to a hare scramble this weekend. Second time on the YZ, and second time on a bike period in about 6 months. So needless to say I got WORKED. But this race was all deep loose sand dunes, and ultra deep sand whoops, and I have zero sand experience. The first ride I did with the bike was desert single track, and through the turns, rocks, and the smaller tighter whoops the Suspension was phenomenal. But out in the sand it felt just meh, I was wondering what clicker adjustments would be recommended for sand. Bike is a 2009 yz250. Im 6'2" 195lbs, and my sag is at about 102. Springs and valves all stock.

I almost always do this settings. In dry sand ( this is from all the way hard on compression and reboubd)

Forks:

4clicks out compression

4out on rebound

Shock:

4 out on compression

And 4 on rebound

run more sag (105mm), slide to the forks down in the clamps level with the top of the brass colored fork tubes. lower tire pressure 2 psi. Lean back. Wide open.

If you are riding smooth soft sand, then you can go in on all clickers a long way.

If your suspension is healthy, and you have a good setting for medium or hard dirt on a medium roughness track, then for rough sand (wooped and rutted) I find this works:

1. Get a front tire that works on sand. Like a Pirelli MS32, or Dunlop MX32, or a Mich S12 or MS3. Compared to a wrong tire, this change will feel like you are cheating.

2. Slow down the rebound. Both front and rear. 1 or 2 clicks can make a big difference. Just experiment.

3. Firm the fork comp. How much deeps a lot on the roughness of the sand track. All sand tracks are far from equal.

4. Firm the shock high speed comp. That 17mm nut. It's easy to find the right amount of HSC by feel. ride some woops and check for rear packing, and ride accel bumps and ensure you're using enough rear travel.