KTM SX 250 2013 tranny/gear oil help!

Hey guys thanks for looking I have a question in regards to my 2stroke I'm new to the 2smokers came off a ktm 350 4stroke and always ran rotella t6 fully synthetic in the motor and was wondering if it's ok to run the rotella t6 on my 2smoker? Or should I run a higher grade oil or perhaps a different brand? Thanks again! ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1427733747.048196.jpg

Its fine! I run diesel oil in my tranny 15w-50, its 60$ for 20liters, i ran it the whole season last year (100hrs) had no problems! It last for apx 133hrs if changed every 5 hrs! Cheap and does the job very well just change it every 5hrs.

You'll be fine with the T6, but when you run out of it.. ATF is still the best thing you can use in a 2 stroke gear case..

You'll be fine with the T6, but when you run out of it.. ATF is still the best thing you can use in a 2 stroke gear case..

I use hydraulic fluid in mine. It has about the same feel as ATF and I have plenty of it around.

I use Mobil 1 synthetic transmission fluid in my 13 and 14 Sx, as well as my 4-strokes too.

The biggest burn I've found is when you pour some $3.00 pr quart Wal Mart ATF into a clear plastic cup, then pour some $13.00 pr quart Bel Ray Gear Saver in another plastic cup. Now let someone swap the cups around like the Mexican bean under a cup game, and try to identify which is which.. :smirk:

Edited by OLHILLBILLY

Its fine! I run diesel oil in my tranny 15w-50, its 60$ for 20liters, i ran it the whole season last year (100hrs) had no problems! It last for apx 133hrs if changed every 5 hrs! Cheap and does the job very well just change it every 5hrs.

cool thanks for the feedback are you running that on your 2stroke? How did the piston look after you replaced the top end?