Sign in to follow this  

Help pls

Hey all, hope everyone is doin good. I'm a 6'3 160 lb kid, that isn't finished growing quite yet. I may get a little taller, and definitely heavier. I have little experience riding a gas dirt bike, but my parents are buying me one of my choice. What bike would be a good starter bike for a kid my size with little experience? I was thinking something like a TTR 125 or klx 125...any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I'd go with a bike you aren't gonna out grow in both power or size. You are tall so seat hight isn't an issue. And as far as being a beginner that really doesn't matter IMHO. I learned on an xr650l and now when I jump on a friend's smaller bike I can man handle theM and really push it. Id look in to like crf 450 or something comparable. If you get a 125 or even 250 you are gonna get used to it and really wish you had more power. Just take it easy at first. That's just my $0.02

Welcome Hector. Depends on the kind of riding you want to do (mx vs trails). With your height, you will feel very cramped in the seat on many bikes. Definately get a good feel for which ever bike you decide to get. Personally, I would recommend KTM as they tend to be tall compared to the jap bikes. :thumbsup:

At 6'3 you're going to need a big bike with a tall seat...get some meat on you and it won't be a handful.

I'd go with a bike you aren't gonna out grow in both power or size. You are tall so seat hight isn't an issue. And as far as being a beginner that really doesn't matter IMHO. I learned on an xr650l and now when I jump on a friend's smaller bike I can man handle theM and really push it. Id look in to like crf 450 or something comparable. If you get a 125 or even 250 you are gonna get used to it and really wish you had more power. Just take it easy at first. That's just my $0.02