Sign in to follow this  

125 or 250 2stroke

hi, I am looking to buy a new bike, I currently have a yz85 but it os to small for me and I have been saving up to buy a bigger bike. I have been riding since I was 3 years old but have never raced and I am thinking about starting. i am thinking about buying a 125 but a 250 keeps popping into my head. I am 5'10" 170 pounds. I am all about speed and power and I think a 250 would be suitable for me. I have driven 125's In the past but i didn't wanna spend money on another bike at the time. I could really use some advice to pick the best suitable bike for me

"Don't get you ambitions mixed up with your ability's".

IMO. A 125 is a big part of the learning curve and shouldn't be skipped.

• Like 5

125's are a really necessary part of learning to ride a 2 stroke, when I learned to race I started on a 85 but hopped up to a 125 pretty quickly as a 250 way over my head... 

I've been riding 2strokes for 12 years I'm a experienced rider I've spent around 15 hours riding the odd 125 and It just feels a bit under powered

Both bikes have there pro's and cons. Not all 125's are created equal. If you go the 125 route your best bet is a newer yz or ktm.

I've been riding for 35 years. I've had cr's and kx 250's, 3 CR500'S a WR426 and a ktm450 Plus 10 or so other dirt bikes.

i have a 13 ktm 125sx right now and all I can say is its one of the funest bikes I ever owned. Theres nothing like ringing a 125 out. There light ,fast, handle great and will make you a better rider.

most young guy's can't wait to get on a bigger bike. They think cc's = speed . hell I was one of those guys. 16yo and racing a cr500. Now I'm 200lbs 43yo on a 125 and enjoying the hell out of it.

Everyone will give you there opinion but

only you can decide what is best for you.

Keep an open mind and do your homework.

• Like 4