Sign in to follow this  

Which Helmet Camera?

Hi guys,

I am looking to purchase a helmet camera for when I am out and about doing silly stuff :-)

I tried to watch a lot of reviews and discussions comparing the different models out there - but they all seem to be a few years old?

My budget is around 2-250. 

I've been looking at:

GoPro Hero 3+ Silver

- I really don't like the shape of this camera

- Quality of video seems to be superior 

Drift HD Ghost 

- I love the shape 

- Cool feature rotating the lens 

But is it still up to speed compared to the GoPros now that it is at least 2 years old?

There are also the Ion Air Pros and the Contour but I think, for me personally, it's between the Drift and GoPro.

What do y'all use? What do you recommend? 

I have a midland XTC 280 Action camera.  I love it.  It was around the $200 mark.

Here is one video from it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gy4QW0BTa5I

I had to do a simulation for work (I am a safety trainer) and is undertaking some egress studies of vehicles that crash into water.  This was a test run on some logistics, at the time the Ice Bucket challenge was in full swing, so I decided to combine the two. 

I used a 1986 Power Ram and cut a hole in the top of it and had it filled with water (using a water truck)  again part of my studies I had the Midland on the floor pointed at my feet and a go pro on the roof inside the cab.

After the simulation was completed I forgot about the Midland Camera, it was not mounted very good and moved around when I started the truck up and drove it !  lol put on a top gear kind of show.

Anyways, here is the picture quality and sound quality.  Let me know what you think or if you want some more info.  I found the sound quality to be very good! (turn up the volume!)

People with GoPro are sheep and all about that status, like if that ain't a GoPro camera you're using, you don't qualify as being 'Cool'.  You all know what I'm talking about!  

Edited by Cute2strokeBoy