Sign in to follow this  

help with Modz for a DRZ400sm

Was sup fellow Thumpers, I could use some help from this great community.

A lil about me im 21 yrs old 5'6" 135 lbs with a 30" inseam, i just bought a brand new 2015 bone stock Suzuki DRZ400sm from the dealership for what i consider a steal $6800 OTD. I just made the switch from my friends cbr300 for a super moto so still adjusting the bike. When it comes to doing modz or anything with motors im a complete noob. The DRZ is primarily going to be used as commuter bike going on the street and the freeway. With light use on dirt roads or trails. So my question is what type of modz should i do on my bike to handle freeway speeds of 60-70 mph comfortably but be able to do 80+ when the time comes for it. Before i do any modz on the bike i want to wait like 6 months to a year for me to find out how much the bike opens up after the break in period and for me to get used to the style of riding a SM.

So ive been hearing about a load of modz from a 3x3 mod and JD jet kit. But i also been hearing about the big bore kits as well. However im concerned about these BB kits as im unaware if you could use the current stock carb or you if you have to modify the carb with JD kit or something else, looking at either the cylinder works 434 or athena 434 BB Kit. Or am i fine with just the 3x3 and JD kit and a slip on or full system exhaust for either JD kit or Big Bore kit. if you cant tell im a complete noob lol im leaning towards the Big Bore kits as it increases hp and throttle response as well, but am unaware if i need other modz prior to doing it. I'm aware of the cost of all these im going to be saving up to accomplish this thus the previous statement of me waiting 6 months to a year before doing any mods.