Sign in to follow this  

Washington bi-directional trails. Wrong decision IMHO

Hi,

I'm new at US and I've been visiting some places to ride some enduro. I went to Taneum and Walker Valley. Amazing places and great trails, but I'm very concerned that the trails are bi-directional, meaning you can crash with another rider going in the opposite direction. At walker valley I almost crash 2 times with very close calls, and after that I decide to go away since I wanted to be back at home without broken bike/bones.

Riding areas have great maps and therefore I think the solutions is pretty easy, like put an additional legend at the entrance of each trail saying "do not enter, this is the exit" or something like that.

I'm from Chile, where we have a lot of mountains and places to ride, and one of the first things everyone gets worried about in a new trail is these type of accidents, and therefore we mark every trail with a blue sign at the right and a right one on the left....everyone knows that red must be at the left side, otherwise you're on the opposite direction. I've seen some broken helmets and arms because of this....is pretty serious even if you're going slow, since the real speed of your crash is your bike's speed + the other bike's speed against a wall....do the math.

Is this something already discussed? if not, can we do something about it? I'll be more than happy to help to mark the trails.

Mauricio

Hi mauricio, in general, this is a problem when people treat trails like race courses. It makes sense to have 1-way trails in tiny small areas with dense trail networks, but in most places it doesn't make sense. 

For sure, I don't think everyone would obey the directional signs, since they already ignore the signs that say 'closed to atvs' or 'closed to motorized use'. So when ricky racer thinks he's on a 1way trail and hauls even more azz than normal, his head-on will be even worse than normal.