Sign in to follow this  

Body Position - Gender and size influence?

I am a female novice rider.  I bought an X-trainer earlier in the year and am still trying to figure everything out.  One of the key points I have read is body position.  There is a lot of information on the topic but I wonder if gender and size of rider might influence things as well.  Females typically have a lower centre of gravity then males and I am on the shorter end of the scale in terms of height (5'3").  I have been having issues with not enough traction going up hill and deflection.  

For going uphill I generally move my butt back a bit and lean forward, try to distribute weight on both ends.  But then again, I'm 6' and 205 lbs.

up hill, nuts to the tank and let it rip, letting the rear wheel and motor do all the work.  thats what i was taught when i started and its held true.  but now mid 20's 6'4" and 240lbs i can lean back a bit and flog it up!

up hill, nuts to the tank and let it rip, letting the rear wheel and motor do all the work.  thats what i was taught when i started and its held true.  but now mid 20's 6'4" and 240lbs i can lean back a bit and flog it up!

The OP can forget the nuts to the tank part. :lol:   And this is a good example of what works for some won't work for others, a lot depends on weight, at your weight the bike is stuck to the ground pretty good, no matter where you sit.. ;)

The OP can forget the nuts to the tank part. :lol:   And this is a good example of what works for some won't work for others, a lot depends on weight, at your weight the bike is stuck to the ground pretty good, no matter where you sit.. ;)

ahaha yea! but same principle for the ladies, thrust hips pelvis to the tank and lean forward slightly and give it alot of thottle, thats what i did when i first started riding when i was 10 or so and it just kinda held true thru the years< at least for me.  

X-trainer looks like a very nice bike and I'm in the market for a Beta 300rr