Sign in to follow this  

XR200R piston & cylinder damage

Hey guys,

Bought this bike for a few hundred bucks, it was smoking a bit (white smoke) so I decided to do some work on her. It looks pretty messed up.

This is my first time working with an engine, so I wanted some advice on what needs to be done / costs of fixing it up...

see pics.. I circled a spot on the crankcase where it looks like is slightly offset (can feel it)

How bad is it, doc?

IMG_20150810_181304.jpg

IMG_20150810_181008.jpg

IMG_20150810_180856.jpg

IMG_20150808_172504.jpg

IMG_20150810_181438.jpg

Ah you're right there's some marks on the rod, I didn't even notice... How does that happen?

IMG_20150811_084430.jpg

Carnage happens....

Some times a $200.00 bike is not such a great deal.....

Edited by adnohguy

Well I knew the bike wasn't perfect, and in the end I can always part it out and come out on top.

Any opinion on whether it's worth fixing?

If your going to keep it and ride it a lot for many years then fix it and keep it.

IMO:

If your going to fix it to sell it then it's a loosing proposition.

Yeah I see what u mean. I do really like it but I guess keeping it depends on how much $$ it will be to get it in decent shape.

What's in store for it? a rebore, new cylinder, and opening the bottom end to look for random shrapnel? lol

Minimum:

Purchase an OEM Factory Honda Shop manual. Read and understand it.

Locate a machinist that knows the engine inside and out. (PM Teamrude)

You have a solvent tank, air compressor, good tools, a work bench, lighting, and a Torque wrench, correct?

Then:

Bore cylinder, install piston and rod kit, cam chain and sprockets, valve job, gasket set, clean centrifugal oil filter, clean air filter, replace spark plug, etc, etc. by the looks of those photos, more than likely you will need a new camshaft and rocker arms?