Sign in to follow this  

KTM SX250 height question.

I know there is quite a few threads about the seat heights on differant bikes however I can't find the answer I need.

I've just bought my first bike- KTM SX 250 2004. I'm 5'10 and weigh around 12 stone. I went out on it yesterday and whilst I can touch the floor with the ball of 1 foot I have to be on my tip toes to have both feet on the floor.

Ideally I want both feet to be firm on the ground and I have seen the threads about lowering the seat etc but should I need to on that bike or could the suspension be setup for a tall rider? If so (remember I'm a newbie) what can I do to lower it to a standard setting or is it I'm just classed as a short ass in the mx world?

Thanks

• Like 1

Im 5'7" and I cant even touch both of my toes to ground at the same time, not really a big deal. Just deal with it?

Im 5'7" and I cant even touch both of my toes to ground at the same time, not really a big deal. Just deal with it?

I wasn't asking if I should deal with it or not, I was asking if the bike could be setup for a taller rider.

Anyway thanks for your input.

Anything you do to the suspension to lower the bike will affect the handling in a serious way. You could shave the seat foam down an inch or two and see if that helps out.

Anything you do to the suspension to lower the bike will affect the handling in a serious way. You could shave the seat foam down an inch or two and see if that helps out.

Tbh I'm not wanting to change anything on the bike unless there was a possibility that someone could of set the bike higher before I had it and in that case I would of wanted to return it to the standard height.

It's not an issue as I can have 1 foot planted firmly on the floor.

No, I highly doubt the seat height has been altered

Sound I'll leave it at then. Cheers