Sign in to follow this  

RMZ450 cutting out.....

Hi all, I'm new to the RMZ ownership club, pretty new to the moto ownership actually too :) 

Took my 06 450 out in the woods/hills Sunday and found it to be a bit rough when holding a steady pace(1/2 throttle) and cutting out intermittently when coming to a stop. Now I did find that if I pull my hot start, get it running then simply let go it doesnt calm down, I have to wiggle the cable before it does, and also found that the choke/start knob springs back on its own(wont stay pulled out)

Do either of these cause the issues I'm having or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Cheers

Mark

First, you probably need to repair/replace your hot start knob if it won't stay pulled out.

Check/replace your spark plug.

Is your air/fuel or idle screw adjusted properly?

Have you ever cleaned the carb?  Maybe you need to rejet

How old is the fuel your using and what kind?

Also, is it overheating?  When mine used to overheat it wanted to cut out.  Check for overflow the next time it's doing this.  If it's overheating then you need to ride faster or... could install a boyesen, engine ice or something similar, rad cap, new oversized rads, check for clutch slippage

Edited by M.r.T.

Thanks for the reply M.R.T and sorry for being so late getting back to you :) Ref your comments I have a few questions, bear in mind I am new to MX so might be asking obvious questions(sorry) see below...

First, you probably need to repair/replace your hot start knob if it won't stay pulled out.

Mine doesn't stay pulled out, I've ordered a new cable(is this all I need?)

Ordered

How would I know? Is this a DIY or should I find a good mechanic(I'm pretty handy and willing to learn)

I havent, again, is this a DIY?

Currently using new from the pump 95.