Sign in to follow this  

Crf450r slow?

Yes, you are missing 6-9hp.

Do most riders need more power? No

Is it noticeable? Yes

Can you still be competitive? Yes

I own a Honda I have ridden all other brands. They are stronger. Green orange and blue most noticeably imo. Not necessary in that order.

• Like 2

what sort of power are the other colours making with engine work?

I've got a done up 05. Stage 2 cam. High comp Piston. Barnett Clutch. Pc Exhaust.

Raced my brothers stock 09 in wet sand and it was dead on twice and he beat me once. Fml.

Edited by coryf89

I'm fairly new to MX and off road riding after racing on the track for quite a few years and the 2012 model definitely doesn't feel 'mellow' or 'slow' to me! I race a 190bhp R1 on the track with no TC too. I've seen the same comments and thought the same thing as you. 

Have owned an 09 & now own a 10 & have also ridden an 11 with a Yoshimura engine package.  By no means are they slow & the chatter mostly comes from the mx reviews along with social media.   I don't think any 450 is slow.   If anybody does they should be on the AMA national pro circuit.  There is probably a handful of pro riders that can ride a stock 450 motor to its potential.   I believe Andrew Short raced a stock 13 CRF450r motor in SX that year with just an exhaust & remap.   He placed 5th if i recall a couple of times before making the switch to the KTM due to lack of funding & support on the team.  

I looked around and it seems the crf450r is the most responsive to upgrades. One of Ron hamp's bikes got 70hp on stock cc. The most I can find in yz and kx forum is 60. Maybe just a lack of people trying it (because it's not practical to try and hang on to a 70hp beast) or the crf is just easier to squeeze out power.

Edited by Crf450r r r