Sign in to follow this  

How to convince my dad that dirt bikes aren't more dangerous that ATV's?

I've been riding ATV's for 7 years now and I've always been interested in dirt bikes since i was young. My dad has never let me ride a gas powered dirt bike  :cry: But i've had a lot of fun on my electric dirt bike, mountain bike, and mini motorcycle. I would get a bike, but the only problem is my dad (because of his experiences with dirt bikes in the past) is anti-dirt bike. He always tells me that dirt bikes are fun until you crash on one. He has told me stories of all his crashes, and one of them involves attempting to jump a curb with a dirt bike and scraping up his ankle on the pavement   :facepalm: Ouch! Sounds like that wasn't the smartest idea, but it was the 80's, so that explains a lot  :p Anyway, whenever i talk about or mention dirt bikes,he always brings up the argument of "You can crash and get really hurt on them because they fall over more easily which is why atv's are safer. And if a dirt bike falls over on you it can burn your leg." Stuff similar to that. I know he doesn't want me to get hurt, but he let's me ride 49cc mini motorcycles, electric dirt bikes, mountain bikes, ATV's, UTV's, Go karts, and sees that i'm a responsible rider, but he won't let me ride dirt bikes what so ever. I feel like it's more emotionally charged due to his past, than it is factual and rational. I do have a friend who has broken his arm from riding, but you can be injured on both and saying one is safer than the other isn't necessarily a fair statement when it can all come down to the rider and riding conditions. Right now i ride a 90cc ATV, and in a year or two my dad's letting me upgrade to his 250cc ATV (which i've ridden before, and is nice, but a lot higher and feels more tipsy and prone to flipping which is scary, especially when going up or down a hill with sudden drops. I would be bound for getting stuck under the 500 pound machine if i ever flipped.) Then once my