Sign in to follow this  

Looking at buying a 15 WR250F

Read all the good reviews, I am aware of the stopped up oem pipe, ecu upgrade need. I have negotiated a price with dealer for the bike and I have worked up a fair price at their parts counter for the GYTR slipon pipe and ecu. I have access to the tuner via a friend with a WR450F. He knows how to add maps and the like and I trust his know how on this. His 450 runs very good.

Handguards? Cycra pro bends still the go to brand? I plan to street legal it on down the trail so I can take it out west and places where I will need a license tag to get to and from off road areas. Dual sport kit Baja or Tusk? Really do not want to tie up a bunch of money in this direction. But on the other hand I am not an electrician by trade so my skill set on this is limited.

Last dirtbike I had was 07 RMZ450 and rode it until 2010 all woods riding, yes I had the suspension redone and added all the woods required stuff. It was a beast, way too much power in the woods. Fun bike though and very reliable. Owned 3 DRZ400's the S, E and SM. All good but to heavy. Had a DR650 in 2011 and it was a decent dual sport in nothing to technical but still a pig.

I own a Super Tenere and have taken it places 600 lb bikes do not need to go Utah, CO, Arizona and New Mexico. The new WR has caught my eye and I really think this bike will work for me. I have a long history of off road having grown up on them and my size suits this size bike, 5'9" 135140 lbs. I know the Yamaha is stone cold reliable as is most modern 4 stroke machines. Any little bits and pieces on it that I might have not read please share.

In the meantime I have been busy reading up on this forum.

personally I would wait until spring to get the 2016 wr450f, cuz it's got all the new plastics, radiator fan, and a better stator. but if you got a really good deal then stick with it, the 2016 is $9000!