Sign in to follow this  

New 450 for Jday help

Hey guys, looking to get a new bike seen a few 13,14,15 left overs for good deals and of course the 16 at the dealership for full retail.

I did my research and looks like the 15 is the best bang for the buck.

Anyone have thoughts on this? I've heard the previous models are dogs but it that mellow power better on the woods?? Is the 15 going to be a hand full?

Right now I ride a gen 3 cr250 and love it. This will be my first 450.

Any input is good.

I just got my first 4t after being on 2 strokes my whole life. I am a Vet B rider competing in the National Enduros Series and local Hare scrambles. I went with a 13 crf450 and I love it. The so called "mellow" power is awesome! That being said here is what I have found to be drawbacks. Flameouts suck! The 2t will continue to pull down to virtually zero rpms. The 450 will flameout without warning and you will go over the handlebars. You will find yourself using the clutch a lot in the slower stuff. Stock gearing is way too high. I instantly went to a 50 tooth rear sprocket and it made a big difference. The stock gas tank is too small. I went with an Acerbis 2.7 gallon and it does the job just fine. The air forks do not like mud and dirt and seal savers are a must if you are riding off-road. If your seals start to leak your day is done because you loose your air pressure and the forks collapse.

All that being said I love this bike. It is so light and handles like a champ. Power delivery is perfect for off-road. And with the 4t you can just roll on the throttle and get yourself out of trouble a lot of the time. Don't let some MX guy show you a dyno sheet and tell you that these things are dogs. Even at 52 hp. you will be gaining 10 hp over your cr250.

Edited by memphis2857

Hey guys, looking to get a new bike seen a few 13,14,15 left overs for good deals and of course the 16 at the dealership for full retail.