Sign in to follow this  

Stock suspension adjustments

Yo guys, I'm a beginner looking for advice on adjusting the stock suspension on my 2015 kx 450.

I know there's a lot to understand/know and money involved in a real suspension set up. I know nothing and I'm not spending money, I'm just looking to use stock settings (the adjustable front and rear in the manual) to adjust to my body weight (215lbs) if it's that simple? Any recommendations like psi inner, outer, balance and 2 clicks here or there on the other adjustments? It's at the standard setting across the board right now but after several months of riding I'm just now looking into the settings. Until now I literally just got on the bike rode it. Never paid attention to the suspension settings because they just confuse me. Needless to say my bike wasn't close to the standard recommended settings when I went through it and set them so I don't know what "standard" feels like. It may not even make a difference at my level, just looking for input. Thanks

Hi there. As you said, first set everything to standard and test it a bit. The manual provides three settings (soft, standard, hard), play around with these to give yourself an idea of whether, for example, the softer setting starts to feel most comfortable. Knowing this will help you fine tune around which ever stock setting felt best.  Make sure your sag is correct (free sag and rider sag). Its not difficult to adjust it, and is super important for the overall handling of the chassis. 

There is a 'Showa sff air' app available. It will help you a lot with the front end and is super simple (just make sure you insert the correct information into settings). You're probably better off using the app rather than the manual to set up the chamber pressures. Once you find pressures which are comfortable yet still allow for best performance, you can start fiddling with the clickers.