Sign in to follow this  

Essential Upgrades for 300XC

I've just put purchased my first KTM, a 2016 300XC. While I'm not new to dirt bikes, I am new to the KTM brand.

What are some of the first essential mods and upgrades to do to this bike to make it even more trail worthy then it is?

I'm planning on adding a spark arrestor to it because most of where I ride is public lands and its required.

What else should be done?

Hey man congrats on the new bike, I have a 15' 300xc and really dig it. I live around sea level in norcal and the jetting was off, I bought the jd jet kit, I know some guys run a rm needle from a rm 250 ..You definitley want to put some loc tite (medium blue) on the shifter bolt, kick stand bolt and any other bolt you think may back out, if your over 5'10 id get taller bars, I put a underbar scotts dampner on mine which raised the stock bars over an inch so for now they work good. Suspension is good for offroad I read all the fuss about the 4cs but I had them on a 350 and now the 300 xc,  try putting about 7-10 solid hours on the suspension too soften up then make some adjustments, all I did was put heavier springs in and I tinker with the clickers everytime I ride and it is starting to get pretty good.. im coming for moto so I personally do not like soft suspension .. I know running a rate stiffer spring than normal on both the shoch and fork works well on the 4cs . There is not a whole lot to do to these bikes, I did put a rekluse exp in it and for off road it is like cheating if your with people that do not have a rekluse lol Its a damn good mod Id get a nice wrap around skid plate and a shark fin , after two rides and 85 miles my skid plate took a beating id never ride rocky stuff without either one of those.