Sign in to follow this  

My Gold Valve thread... 02 yz250

I have been running the gold valve in the shock for a couple months and like it but plan on going a touch softer next time I service it. It is very predictable on high and low speed hits but could be a little more forgiving.

I just installed the fork kit last week. I was pretty surprised how soft the recommended stack is compared to the stock stack, especially considering the mid valve is now removed. I expected it to feel low in the stroke. That said, I rode sweep for a particularly nasty hare scramble in east TN and I am very impressed with the results. The track was extremely beat up with long deep ruts and millions of shiny rocks and roots. Most of the lap was second gear with an occasional low third so I haven't gotten to test any faster stuff yet. I haven't found many reviews of the RT stuff on the 46mm open cartridge forks. I will keep this thread updated as I get more time on the bike and begin to dial in the clickers.

Was the mid-valve function removed as per Race Tech installation instructions or personnal decision?

Also, did you install both compression and rebound Gold Valves?

Edited by mlatour

So RT does recommend removing the mid-valve for your usage.

Just curious because I've installed RT compression and rebound valves in my 2010 YZ125

but as my usage is exclusively for motocross track, there wasn't any infos indicated on my DVS chart on removing the mid-valve for off-road use.

Our bikes have different model forks as well so perhaps not fully comparable.

Edited by mlatour

OP, where did you go???  I'm about to take my mid-valves to a suspension guy  for a softer shimming and there's a possibility he will try to sell me the gold valve  (compression) to really get what I want.  What is the latest news?