Sign in to follow this  

Engine rebuild? What to buy? Need help

I have a 2013 kx250f and Its right about 40 hours from last rebuild and I'm riding fast and it's tarting to lose a little bit of power and I'm sure it's about to rebuild befor any damage can come...not sure what to buy? New piston and rings? Valves? Cams? What should I buy for a good engine rebuild that will last another good 40 to 50 hours hopefully!

Woah woah slow down pal. I'm no motor expert but the only thing I could say is that you'd want your valves checked upon rebuild. And depending what you see and the condition of the valves base your decision off that. Cams. I dont think you should have to worry about them except for the timing chain. Which is usually checked when valves are checked. Otherwise new gaskets. A piston. But bearings can slow you down too. So I'd recommend checking those out. You should be able to get 75-100 hours but you said your riding fast. Which is another term for aggressive. So 50 hours would be my max for a hard ridden motor.

Someone on this forum who knows the whole system of your motor will likely respond. Just give it a few hours .

I have a 2013 kx250f and Its right about 40 hours from last rebuild and I'm riding fast and it's tarting to lose a little bit of power and I'm sure it's about to rebuild befor any damage can come...not sure what to buy? New piston and rings? Valves? Cams? What should I buy for a good engine rebuild that will last another good 40 to 50 hours hopefully!

I'm in the same situation except I have a 04 yz 250 2T.  don't know what to do.  My top end is toast after 8 tanks  I believe it was toast before, apparently my local shops cant measure. now I think im going to do a full rebuild but not sure I trust aftermarket cranks, so guess im going to have the crank rebuilt. IDK..................

IMO the best thing you could do is buy the tools, gauges, pullers,  etc. to inspect every thing part by part... start with the top end.