Sign in to follow this  

Really need some help, driving me crazy

Ok so just bought a non running 05 kx250f. Seemed to have low compression and wouldn't run. Found intake valves not sealing. Ok so got a head with a fresh valve and seat job and installed it. Making sure to check timing marks multiple times. Performed shimming process on the valve before putting head on the bike. Pretty sure I have all of them in spec, I'm an auto mechanic of 15 years and pretty savy with engines. Got it all back together and it def has more compression now as it seems pretty hard to kick, but still not running. Interesting thing is this, tried bump starting the bike and the wheel just locks up and drags. Before I tried doing this with the old head and it would at least sound like it would almost run. My question is, did I set something up too tight causing to much drag? Bike does have a brand new cyl. Works big bore 269 cylinder also. Also carb was nasty, but got it all cleaned up and working. I have spark. Just not getting why now I can't even try to bump start it. Try shooting a little gas/starting spray and still won't even try and run. Has popped out exhaust a couple of times. My leg it tiiiiiired! Please help

As an update I think I might have identified my problem. The cams aren't spinning freely after the caps are torqued down, causing the tightness I'm feeling in the kickstart

Ya my problem is the cam caps are from old head, new one didn't come with them so as soon as I torque the rear bolts on the caps cam is very hard to turn, I can polish, but do I polish the head or the caps or both so it will fit nicely?