Sign in to follow this  

New old guy looking at KTMs

Here's a little background.  I'm 44 years old and live in Michigan.   I'm 5'8" and 150 pounds.  I raced a little motocross as a young teen and sucked at it.  But I also did some trail riding with a friend in high school and loved it.  I stopped riding at 17 when I graduated and my dirt biking friend and I went to college.   I rode road bikes through my 20s and early 30s, the last being a CBR 900RR.  I current race mountain bikes.  

I recently was watching a TV show that spotlighted the riding opportunity we have here in Michigan.  It reminded me how much I loved trail riding as a kid.  It also made me realize how lucky I am to be in a state that offers so much riding opportunity.  Lastly it reminded me I'm not getting any younger and if I want to get back into it, now's probably the time.  I've spent the last 6 months really looking into all the bikes.  I think I'm getting close to pulling the trigger, but thought I would just finally join up here at Thumper Talk, and talk through my decision out loud and listen to some of the feedback.

I think I'm going to go for a KTM 350 XCF-W.  

I wanted something that was trail oriented but wasn't too soft.  I rode an XR as a kid and thought it sucked.  But on the other hand when I rode my motocross bike (RM125) on the trails the peaky power was up in the powerband and tall first gear also kind of sucked.  All my bad memories of trail riding on the motorcross bike revolve around trying to get that thing up steep slow speed washed up climbs and either bogging it out, or having it suddenly get on the pipe and looping it out.  So I am looking at bikes like the WR250F, KTM XC-W or XCF-W.