Sign in to follow this  

DR-Z400SM on 18/21 wheels

So this afternoon I managed to swap out my stock SM wheels out with some "S" wheels in my garage.  And I say manage because other than changing my oil and filter, I've never done anything on my bike as complex haha.  Total newbie when it comes to this stuff.

So it felt pretty good accomplishing such a feat :D

Took me a couple hours because I was having a little trouble trying to figure out how to take the rear SM wheel out.  Ended up having to take out the chain guide in order to get some clearance.  Also, adjusting the rear with the axle blocks was such a freakin' headache for

me because once you set the distance the way you wanted it would change ever so slightly once you tightened the axle which in turn would end up tightening the chain way too much.  Anyway, here are some pics...

Rear Tire:  Dunlop D606 130/90-18

Front Tire:  Pirelli MT21 90/90-21

Sprocket:  44T

Speedo Drive:  DRZ400S OEM (Part# 54600-29F00)

IMG_7779.JPG

IMG_7780.JPG

IMG_7781.JPG

Edited by LetMeBRAAAPthat
  • Like 1

Good job. You'll get faster the more you do it. Takes me about 20 mins to get from street to dirt form. Love having both wheel sets.

Thanks man!  Yeah, the mistakes I made I've definitely learned from and the next time I swap them out it will be much quicker.  Honestly, so glad I have the ability to just swap out the bike's capabilities just like that.  Such a versatile machine.  Love it.

• Like 2

Definitely! Have fun. Mines in dirt form now. Going for a quick braap up the mountain before football starts tomorrow.

Ive always wondered what mine would look like with a set of dirt wheels . After seeing your pics ( I have the same model SM ) , it makes me want to do it now , greg

• Like 1

I plan on doing this later this week.  Where did you get the 310mm front rotor?  Did you get a second chain?  (1 for each setup)  Did you watch any specific videos before you did it?  (links?)