Sign in to follow this  

NOOB with a new to me 06 RM-Z450

Hey guys,

I just picked up a 2006 RM-Z450 in a trade.  I'm totally new to dirt bike riding and dirt bikes period.  I've owned and ridden sportbikes and road cruisers for about 10 years now, but I know this is a different animal.  Boy was the test drive fun!! LOL.  I'm going to start off with an oil change first thing.  Anything else I should do right away? I don't know how much riding I'll get in before winter hits hard here in Utah, but I'm hoping to get some dunes and desert riding in soon.  I am also trying to find out what gear is the bare necessity.  I have a helmet, goggles, gloves, jersey and pants that came in the trade.  I am looking into boots, but I am on a pretty tight budget, so looking at these.. https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/712/-/818010/O%27Neal-Racing-Element-Boots-2015-Size-11-Black. Any advice etc is welcome. 

9-MMS-1447119466-attachment1-IMAG0383.jpg

10-MMS-1447119482-attachment1-IMAG0384.jpg

Hey guys,

I just picked up a 2006 RM-Z450 in a trade.  I'm totally new to dirt bike riding and dirt bikes period.  I've owned and ridden sportbikes and road cruisers for about 10 years now, but I know this is a different animal.  Boy was the test drive fun!! LOL.  I'm going to start off with an oil change first thing.  Anything else I should do right away? I don't know how much riding I'll get in before winter hits hard here in Utah, but I'm hoping to get some dunes and desert riding in soon.  I am also trying to find out what gear is the bare necessity.  I have a helmet, goggles, gloves, jersey and pants that came in the trade.  I am looking into boots, but I am on a pretty tight budget, so looking at these.. https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/712/-/818010/O%27Neal-Racing-Element-Boots-2015-Size-11-Black. Any advice etc is welcome.