Sign in to follow this  

Valve shims

Just checked the valves on a 2004 crf250r I purchased off CL. Valves are in spec, L In-.005 and R In .005 but my question is about shim thickness. The intake shims are 1.69 and 1.71. At what shim thickness, is it time to change the valves? BTW, the exhaust was good as well. L Ex. .012 and R Ex. .011 and shim thickness was 2.38 on both sides.

The only reason I even checked this was just an overall assessment of a "new to me" machine.

Thanks.

1.25 or 1.3 are the smallest shims. Once the (titanium) intakes start getting tight though it means the external coating is worn off and it will be time for a rebuild soon. Shimming just buys a few extra hours.

The shim sizes you've got in there are likely what were put in after the last valve job (haven't moved yet) so keep up on maintenance and you should be good for a while yet.

Thanks. That's what I was thinking but, I am new to this so I just wanted a second opinion. I'm just nervous because I have read that the '04 likes to destroy valves.

Yeah the early crf250's were bad for intake valves. There's a chance the previous owner has upgraded them already though. If they do go on you, two good options are using stainless steel intakes or send it in to Fastheads and get beryllium copper seats put in. I did the Fastheads thing and although it's a lot more expensive than the stainless option - they last forever and allow you to continue to run titanium valves and OEM parts so the performance and remainder of the valve train function as designed. I sold mine with over 130 hours on the Fastheads valve setup and they never budged.

Edited by sjvmtb
  • Like 1