Sign in to follow this  

Newbie Old Guy

Hi,

I finally decided to register...I've been lurking and learning for a little while now.

I have been riding for 30+ years now, and have owned way too many bikes. Wait.  Is there such a thing?  I currently have three other bikes and have always done my all  own work. Tinkering is very therapeutic.  Anyway, I have always really liked the 400 SM since they came out. It just looked like way too much fun.  Kept telling myself I need to get one, one of these days. Well, I'm not getting any younger (50!) and decided to take the plunge.

I popped in to a local dealer.  Naturally, they didn't have one, but mentioned they were expecting one in March.  I asked about leftover '14's, as I REALLY liked the blue/white scheme, but he wasn't aware of any nor had any access to leftovers.

As luck would have it, I was looking at ads (a daily thing) the following day and a dealer had advertised one on Craigslist, brand new, great deal.  It was about two hours away down in Ohio. Did NOT want to lose it.  Calls made. Trip down there. Done deal.

Just arrived last night.  Couldn't be happier.  Bits/manuals on order and will contemplate various mods after break-in come spring. 

Just wanted to introduce myself.  Forums for the other bikes have been a vast wealth of information (and sometimes entertainment), and this appears to be the same.  

Thanks!  

SM.jpg

• Like 10

I have been riding for 30+ years now, and have owned way too many bikes. Wait.  Is there such a thing?  I currently have three other bikes and have always done my all  own work. Tinkering is very therapeutic.  Anyway, I have always really liked the 400 SM since they came out. It just looked like way too much fun.  Kept telling myself I need to get one, one of these days. Well, I'm not getting any younger (50!) and decided to take the plunge.

No. but I understand the feeling!

Did the exact same thing with a 955 Daytona. Had it shipped from Penn. with zero miles on the clock.