Sign in to follow this  

2003 kx250 linkage rebuild...need help!

Hey guys. I've got a 2003 kx250 and I'm gonna rebuild the linkage, but I've never done it before. I've watched a how to video by rockyMountainatvmc and I understand how to do it, but here's my main question. I ordered a pivot works rebuild kit and it came with 6 cages of bearings, but as far as I can see I'll only need 4 for the rocker arm, so where do the other 2 go? I've been trying to figure it out and don't know if it just came with 2 extras or what but I'm pretty stumped on this one. If anyone has some info on this please let me know!

Hey guys. I've got a 2003 kx250 and I'm gonna rebuild the linkage, but I've never done it before. I've watched a how to video by rockyMountainatvmc and I understand how to do it, but here's my main question. I ordered a pivot works rebuild kit and it came with 6 cages of bearings, but as far as I can see I'll only need 4 for the rocker arm, so where do the other 2 go? I've been trying to figure it out and don't know if it just came with 2 extras or what but I'm pretty stumped on this one. If anyone has some info on this please let me know!

There are three pivot points into which you will install bearings...two on the knuckle (not including the lower shock mount) and one on the dog bone......should be obvious when you take it all apart.

linkage.JPG

• Like 1

See mine doesn't have that dog bone it only has the 2 side arms that connect to the knuckle, that explains why I'll have the extra 2.

The sets go; 2 in upper link arm, 2 in lower link arm and 2 in the swing arm.

that's what I was thinking because the my bike wouldn't have anywhere else to out the last 2 cages. I just didn't want to take them out of the swing arm if they didn't go there.

If you are going through all the trouble of doing that, go ahead and change the swingarm bearings as well.  It will save you some time down the road.

• Like 1