Sign in to follow this  

Crf230f torque increase

Just got a 2016 model crf230f. I'm wanting to increase the torque. Anyone have any suggestions for sprocket change? Pros and cons of changing it as well? I'm completely new to riding off road. My style of riding is enduro. Would love to be able to do technical riding like Gram Jarvis but I need more low end torque may have bought the wrong bike but want to make it work. Thanks in advance

If your 230f has already been un - corked and properly jetted:

The biggest bang for the buck is to add compression .

With only one single mod, NOTHING else you ever do to your 230f will make as much difference unless you spend lots more $$$

If that is done then you will be forced to install better tires that come on it from the factory and re-valve the rear shock. (Minimum) fork modifications will be next on your list of must do things.

Otherwise you will crash and crash a lot until you do.

Hum more low end torque. You bought the perfect bike for a new rider and low end torque. Probably you just need to get use to riding it. But if it's lower gearing your after or want to try one tooth on the front smaller is about three on the back bigger.

• Like 1

Also I'm a larger guy. I'm 6' 230 lbs so that may have a little to do with the sluggish feel

If you arent concerned with losing top speed then switching a front sprocket to a tooth smaller would be a really cheap and easy mod. If you really wanted to crawl around you could even go 2 teeth smaller but that would make the bike much slower

If I go down a size in the front will. I have to change the rear sprocket too?or can I leave it alone

NO NO NO, don't spend any money on that shit. I have a 230 and I regret every penny I spent. Once you spend money on it you will spend more because you know if you sold it you will not get your losses back.